skip to content

Education Quality and Policy Office


Terms of Reference

Last updated Jan 2019

Reporting to the General Board’s Education Committee (through the Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning), and to the Information Services Committee, the Committee’s primary responsibility will be to steer development of pedagogic support and innovation across the University.  It will do this by:

  1. Developing, promoting and monitoring the University’s Digital Strategy for Education1 and associated Action Plan, and monitoring its relationship to the University's Education Strategy;
  2. Keeping under review the implementation and use of digital/electronic materials in the University’s teaching programmes and the wider sector, consistent with the University’s high academic standards and achieving value for money;
  3. Developing and promoting ‘Digital Advocates’ across the University;
  4. Working with the Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning to promote reflection and good practice in the use of digital/electronic materials across the University;
  5. Working with the Cambridge Centre for Teaching and Learning and the Office of External Affairs and Communications to disseminate information and good practice about teaching and learning in the Collegiate University;
  6. Administering the Teaching and Learning Innovation Fund;
  7. Guiding the introduction and development of systems and services that support teaching and learning, including the development of the University’s VLE, lecture capture, and similar projects;
  8. Overseeing the work of the Software Site Licensing Co-ordination Committee.

Membership, 2018-19

Chair Professor Richard Prager
One member appointed by the Information Services Committee Dr Rachael Padman
Six members to represent each of the Schools (appointed by the General Board)

Dr Christof Schwiening, SBS

Dr James Keeler (MT) and Prof J.A. Elliott (LT/ET), SPS

Dr Michael Ramage, SAH

Dr Ella MacPherson, SHSS

Professor Jaideep Prabhu, ST

Dr Deepak Jadon, SCM

One member appointed by the Teaching & Learning Joint Committee Dr Michelle Ellefson
One member appointed by the Senior Tutors' Committee Dr David Holburn
The University Librarian and the Deputy Director of Education, Administration, and Student Services (UIS)

Dr Jessica Gardner

Mr Richard Hey

One representative from the Software Site Licensing Co-ordination Committee

Mr Jay Pema

Up to three members, co-opted at the discretion of the Committee

Dr Jim Gazzard

Mr Daniel Bates

Mr Andy Kent

A CUSU representative Mx Emrys Travis

Invited attendees: 

Prof Ian Leslie, UIS

Dr Litsa Biggs, Clinical Medicine

Dr Steve Smith, UIS

Mr Mark Chaney, UIS

Mr John Harding, DRC

Mr Mark Andrews, Judge Business School

Secretariat provided by Educational and Student Policy Melissa Rielly

Meeting dates for 2018-19

Thursday, 25 October 2018, 11.00am-1.00pm

Wednesday, 6 February 2019, 2.00pm-4.00pm

Friday, 10 May 2019, 10.00am-12.00pm


1 Note that as at 2018-19, review of the Digital Strategy is underway but has been held pending release of the wider University Education Strategy; these pages will be updated as this progresses throughout the 18-19 academic year.